Page 2 of 2

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:22 am
by Tuesday

Code: Select all

[Editor Paths]
GamePath=C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 1942\
//	custom mod files go here:
ModsPath=Mods\bf1942\
//	objects are read from here
ObjectsPath=Mods\bf1942\objects\
//	SMs are read from here
StandardMeshPath=Mods\bf1942\standardMesh\
//	TMs are read from here
TreeMeshPath=Mods\bf1942\treeMesh\
//	textures are read from here
TexturePath=Mods\bf1942\texture\
//	Object list
ObjectsList=bf1942.lst

OpenMODArchive=Mods\bf1942\Archives\StandardMesh_001.rfa
OpenMODArchive=Mods\bf1942\Archives\texture_001.rfa

[Defaults]
LevelName=MyLevel
MaterialSize=512
WorldSize=2048
HeightScale=1
TexOffsetX=0
TexOffsetY=0
VertexFogEnable=1
FogColor=0.77/0.766/0.75
GlobalAmbientColor=0.1/0.1/0.1
AmbientColor=0.15/0.15/0.18
DiffuseColor=0.3/0.3/0.3
SpecularColor=0.3/0.3/0.3
ShadowColor=0.4
WaterLevel=50
AlternativePath=Texture/Europe
WaterSpecularEnable=1
WaterTexLayer1=texture/water05
WaterTexLayer2=texture/water06
WaterNormalMap=texture/normalMap01
WaterScrollDirectionNormalmap=1/0
WaterScrollDirection1=1/-0.5
WaterScrollDirection2=1/0.5
WaterSpecularColor=0.65/0.55/0.4
WaterScrollLayer1=0.02
WaterScrollLayer2=0.02
WaterScrollNormalmap=0.02
WaterSpecularStreakFactor=0.001
WaterTileLayer1=0.5
WaterTileLayer2=0.5
WaterTileNormalMap=1
WaterLightDirection=-0.3/0.5/-0.65
WaterShallowColor=1/1/1
WaterDeepColor=1/1/1
WaterAlphaDepth=0
WaterShallowAlpha=0.5

[Theatres] //this is the equivilent to the alternatetexturepath
Theatre=Europe
Theatre=Africa
Theatre=Pacific
Theatre=Russia
Theatre=Canadian

[GameModes]
GameMode=Coop
GameMode=Conquest
GameMode=TDM
GameMode=CTF

[Skies]

//	Sky=name
//	SkyMesh=mesh
//	SkyDefaults=heightoffset/rot/lightvector (in x/y/z form)
//	defaults get used when user chooses a sky, but they can still change those values

Sky=Battleaxe
SkyMesh=Sky_Gazala_m1
SkyDefaults=200/180/0.628/0.661/-0.41

Sky=Berlin
SkyMesh=Sky_Berlin_m1
SkyDefaults=150/180/-0.191/.45/-0.873

Sky=Bocage
SkyMesh=Sky_Bocage_m1
SkyDefaults=150/180/-0.191/.45/-0.873

Sky=Bulge
SkyMesh=Sky_Bulge_m1
SkyDefaults=0/180/-0.087/0.319/-0.944

Sky=El_Alamein
SkyMesh=Sky_Elala_m1
SkyDefaults=50/0/-0.75/0.46/0.46

Sky=Gazala
SkyMesh=Sky_Battleaxe_m1
SkyDefaults=150/180/0.5/0.4/0.76

Sky=Guadalcanal
SkyMesh=Sky_Guada_m1
SkyDefaults=150/180/0.783/0.38/-0.49

Sky=Iwo_Jima
SkyMesh=Sky_IwoJima_m1
SkyDefaults=50/180/0.764/0.5867/-0.251

Sky=Kharkov
SkyMesh=Sky_Kharkov_m1
SkyDefaults=200/180/-0.483/0.345/-0.805

Sky=Kursk
SkyMesh=Sky_Kursk_m1
SkyDefaults=0/180/0.718/0.8/-0.696

Sky=Market
SkyMesh=Sky_Market_m1
SkyDefaults=0/180/0.365/0.59/-0.715

Sky=Midway
SkyMesh=Sky_Midway_m1
SkyDefaults=0/180/0.628/0.661/-0.41

Sky=Omaha
SkyMesh=Sky_Omaha_m1
SkyDefaults=200/180/-0.448/0.3765/0.810

Sky=Stalingrad
SkyMesh=Sky_Stalingrad_m1
SkyDefaults=0/180/-0.719/0.625/0.305

Sky=Tobruk
SkyMesh=Sky_Tobruk_m1
SkyDefaults=150/180/-0.778/0.58/-0.234

Sky=Wake
SkyMesh=Sky_Wake_m1
SkyDefaults=0/180/-0.295/0.496/-0.816

[Teams]

//	Team=name_of_team/name_of_flag_template/name_of_skin
//  TeamBase=flag_base_template
//	then there should be exactly 5 kit names following.

Team=Japanese/AnimatedJapFlag/JapaneseSoldier
TeamBase=JPBase
TeamKit=Jap_Scout
TeamKit=Jap_Assault
TeamKit=Jap_AT
TeamKit=Jap_Medic
TeamKit=Jap_Engineer

Team=US/AnimatedUsFlag/USSoldier
TeamBase=USBase
TeamKit=US_Scout
TeamKit=US_Assault
TeamKit=US_AT
TeamKit=US_Medic
TeamKit=US_Engineer

Team=British/AnimatedUkFlag/BritishSoldier
TeamBase=UKBase
TeamKit=GB_Scout
TeamKit=GB_Assault
TeamKit=GB_AT
TeamKit=GB_Medic
TeamKit=GB_Engineer

Team=Germans/AnimatedGeFlag/GermanSoldier
TeamBase=GEBase
TeamKit=German_Scout
TeamKit=German_Assault
TeamKit=German_AT
TeamKit=German_Medic
TeamKit=German_Engineer

Team=GermanDesert/AnimatedGeFlag/GermanDesertSoldier
TeamBase=GEBase
TeamKit=German_Scout_Desert
TeamKit=German_Assault_Desert
TeamKit=German_AT_Desert
TeamKit=German_Medic_Desert
TeamKit=German_Engineer_Desert

Team=Russians/AnimatedSoFlag/RussianSoldier
TeamBase=SOBase
TeamKit=Rus_Scout
TeamKit=Rus_Assault
TeamKit=Rus_AT
TeamKit=Rus_Medic
TeamKit=Rus_Engineer

Team=USMarine/AnimatedUsFlag/USMarineSoldier
TeamBase=USBase
TeamKit=USMarine_Scout
TeamKit=USMarine_Assault
TeamKit=USMarine_AT
TeamKit=USMarine_Medic
TeamKit=USMarine_Engineer

Team=Canadians/AnimatedCanFlag/CanadianSoldier
TeamBase=USBase
TeamKit=Canadian_Scout
TeamKit=Canadian_Assault
TeamKit=Canadian_AT
TeamKit=Canadian_Medic
TeamKit=Canadian_Engineer

[END]


Only just noticed the first line is GamePath=C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 1942\ should it be Program Files (x86)?

I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit if that helps.

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:35 am
by fo0k
thought so. yes you need the exact path and if its Win7 64 bit then it will defo include the (x86). The best way to be sure would be to open the folder where your bf1942.exe is then just copy the address.

Thats the only reason its not working :) just not beeing told where the files are.

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:22 pm
by Swaffy
Just noticed that. My mod loads the path with "Program Files (x86)" in it.
I did not yet set the vanilla bf42.cfg file with that path, since I don't edit the vanilla maps.

I'm sure that is the problem.

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:28 pm
by Apache Thunder
Another solution is to simply not use Battlecraft...

You can try using Editor42 instead.That's my map editor of choice. I've found little use of Battlecraft now-a-days since the only reason I ever used it was for lightmapping. But now I use 3DSMax to do that, so BC42 is collecting digital dust on my hard-drive right now. Battlecraft may be able to make a map from scratch, but Editor42 is much better at texturing the terrain if you know what you're doing.

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:59 pm
by Senshi
Ed42 can do maps from scratch as well. Easily. It even creates cleaner code than BG. Plus terrain sculpting and texturing both are WAY easier. The way texturing works may seem odd at first, but once you dig in a bit you'll notice it's an incredibly powerful tool (hint: Go for "noise layers". And mix noise with noise layers. This way you easily get very nice generic dirt, grass, concrete base textures).

Object placement is the only field where BC42 is a bit better, mainly because of the possibility to change XYZ pos/rot on a per-object basis (doubleclick), which Ed42 does not feature. But one gets used to it very quickly.

Ed42 also does not have many of the crippling limitations of BC42, one of them being a max object limit of 1024 (if I recall correctly). Many current maps employed by larger mods feature a lot more than that, the game engine can handle it just fine, it's just the Battlecraft editor that is hardcoded there.

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:55 pm
by Apache Thunder
Yep. Many of my BFH maps has 20,000+ undergrowth grass objects in it. BC42 would have imploded if I tried to do that with that editor. :P

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 10:34 pm
by jdc527
My version of the game didn;t come with the _001.rfa for texture and standardmesh. Am I fine? I got an updated/already modded version of the game.

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2024 9:22 am
by Skull Kid
To open any The Road To Rome or Secret Weapons of World War II map, you'll need to as always repack the maps (and maybe also the archives, can't remember) and then to prevent Battlecraft 1942 from crashing when opening some maps from The Road To Rome and Secret Weapons of World War II, you also need to look inside the init.con file in the root directory for the map.

I opened the maps in WinRFA, and looked at the main init.con for the map, not menu/init.con but just init.con. There I saw a few interesting things in the first few lines as shown in the pictures below. The digits for some commands were only one digit, but it should be three of them. The game doesn't care, but Battlecraft 1942 does, so I simply copied the one only digit into three of it with forward slashes in between. Then the map loaded up just fine.

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2024 1:58 pm
by Diamondback
Does this work with all expansion maps Skull Kid?

Re: Battlecraft Problems

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2024 3:24 pm
by Skull Kid
It should. As far as I'm concerned, it has worked with every map I've tried to open in Battlecraft 1942.