Create SpawnPoints attached to a new flag ?

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
tekk
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:12 pm

Create SpawnPoints attached to a new flag ?

Post by tekk »

Correct me if I am wrong , You can add a new flag to a conquest map but you CAN'T attach spawnpoints to it right ?

You can add spawns ripped from vehicles to the new flag obviously but the soldierspawns wont change to whoever is holding the flag.

I just need this reiterated to me incase someone has figured out how to attach soldierpawns to a NEW flag.
Last edited by tekk on Fri May 27, 2011 5:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nodbrother- "getting whiped every single game by some over-active 9 year old kid with too much spare time and a reaction time that is a third of yours."
User avatar
Swaffy
Posts: 1715
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Cibolo, Texas

Re: Create SpawnPoints attached to a new flag ?

Post by Swaffy »

Yes, you can create new spawns and you can attach them to a flag. You can use Editor '42 or BattleCraft '42 to do that.

The soldier spawns will spawn soldiers of the team that the flag is currently set to.
The object spawn will spawn whatever vehicle is set on the flag's team [Team 1 is Axis, team 2 is Allies].

In order for a soldier or object spawn to be attached to a flag, it needs to have the correct flag ID to tell it which flag to attach to.

rem SoldierSpawnTemplates
ObjectTemplate.create SpawnPoint AxisSpawnPoint_bunker3
ObjectTemplate.setSpawnId 1
ObjectTemplate.setGroup 1


rem SoldierSpawns
Object.create AxisSpawnPoint_bunker3
Object.absolutePosition 827.41/56.32/1108.13
Object.rotation 0.00/0.00/0.00

rem ObjectSpawnTemplates
ObjectTemplate.create ObjectSpawner MachinegunSpawner
ObjectTemplate.setObjectTemplate 1 stationary_mg42
ObjectTemplate.setObjectTemplate 2 stationary_browning
ObjectTemplate.MinSpawnDelay 35
ObjectTemplate.MaxSpawnDelay 55
ObjectTemplate.SpawnDelayAtStart 0
ObjectTemplate.TimeToLive 45
ObjectTemplate.Distance 40
ObjectTemplate.DamageWhenLost 10
ObjectTemplate.maxNrOfObjectSpawned 1
ObjectTemplate.teamOnVehicle 0

rem ObjectSpawns
Object.create MachinegunSpawner
Object.absolutePosition 736.35/79.03/893.66
Object.rotation 63.36/0.00/0.06
Object.setOSId 6
Object.setTeam 2
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
freddy
Posts: 1267
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Post by freddy »

try if you can spawn the flags first then i think we can sort the spawns later. all iwé tried is the ctf flags in the coral sea map and that works fine. however there is some flag code in the init.con on coral sea from start.

Code: Select all

rem 
rem *** Define flags ***
rem
ObjectTemplate.create Flag BlueFlag
ObjectTemplate.team 1
ObjectTemplate.networkableInfo FlagBodyInfo
ObjectTemplate.radius 5
ObjectTemplate.TimeToReSpawn 10
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate AnimatedItFlag

ObjectTemplate.create Flag RedFlag
ObjectTemplate.team 2
ObjectTemplate.networkableInfo FlagBodyInfo
ObjectTemplate.radius 5
ObjectTemplate.TimeToReSpawn 10
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate AnimatedUkFlag
tekk
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:12 pm

Re: Create SpawnPoints attached to a new flag ?

Post by tekk »

Hey thanks Swaffy for the info, I will give it a go , I honestly didnt think that it could be done SS. And freddy the flags are already on the map so hopefully all goes good with the new info.
Nodbrother- "getting whiped every single game by some over-active 9 year old kid with too much spare time and a reaction time that is a third of yours."
tekk
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:12 pm

Re: Create SpawnPoints attached to a new flag ?

Post by tekk »

Swaffy - I tried your suggestion and Its not working , Keep getting a CTD

Freddy - The flags are already on the map BUT they were coded with NO soldierspawns attached.

This is one flag im attempting to add soldier spawns too

ControlPointTemplates

Code: Select all

rem ----------------------------------------- 
rem ---  West_No_Fly_Zone  ---
rem ----------------------------------------- 
ObjectTemplate.create ControlPoint West_No_Fly_Zone
ObjectTemplate.networkableInfo ControlPointInfo
ObjectTemplate.setControlPointName West_No_Fly_Zone
ObjectTemplate.radius 150
ObjectTemplate.team 0
ObjectTemplate.spawnGroupId 3
ObjectTemplate.objectSpawnerId 3
ObjectTemplate.areaValue 50
ObjectTemplate.timeToGetControl 5
ObjectTemplate.timeToLoseControl 5
ObjectTemplate.disableIfEnemyInsideRadius 0
ObjectTemplate.disableWhenLosingControl 0
ObjectTemplate.loseControlWhenEnemyClose 1
ObjectTemplate.loseControlWhenNotClose 0
ObjectTemplate.geometry flagbase_m1
ObjectTemplate.hasCollisionPhysics 0
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate AnimatedFlag
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0.000000/8.200000/0.000000
ObjectTemplate.setTeamGeometry 1 flagge_m1
ObjectTemplate.setTeamGeometry 2 flagus_m1
spawnPointManagerSettings

Code: Select all

rem ----------------------------------------- 
rem ---  group 3  ---
rem ----------------------------------------- 
spawnPointManager.group 3
spawnPointManager.groupTeam 0
spawnPointManager.groupIcon test1.tga
SoldierSpawnTemplates

Code: Select all

rem ----------------------------------------- 
rem ---  West_No_Fly_Zone Spawns  ---
rem ----------------------------------------- 
ObjectTemplate.create SpawnPoint West_No_Fly_Zone_Spawn1  <--- Created this
ObjectTemplate.setSpawnId 32  <----Followed the order of spawns and gave this one 32
ObjectTemplate.setGroup 3
SoldierSpawns

Code: Select all

rem ----------------------------------------- 
rem ---  West_No_Fly_Zone Spawns ---
rem ----------------------------------------- 
Object.create West_No_Fly_Zone_Spawn1
Object.absolutePosition 1565.00/19.71/939.05
Object.rotation 90/0/0

So to me this looks all good , followed the same steps as the main bases are coded with the only differnce is the "West_No_Fly_Zone_Spawn1" didnt exist and I created that. As the code is right now im getting CTD's as I expected I would. Swaffy have you actually been able to do this SSM or did you think I meant CSM ? Thanks fellas
Nodbrother- "getting whiped every single game by some over-active 9 year old kid with too much spare time and a reaction time that is a third of yours."
freddy
Posts: 1267
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Post by freddy »

the way i would go on to do this ssm, instead of tie the spawn directly to the flag you tie a wehicle spawn to the flag. thats the culprit, if you can do that then you can code that spawn and a wehicle that has a soldierspawn on it to simulate a "ordinary" flag soldierspawn
tekk wrote:You can add spawns ripped from vehicles to the new flag obviously but the soldierspawns wont change to whoever is holding the flag.
edit: on second tought im not so sure, need to checkout a bit closer how the flags works
tekk
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:12 pm

Re: Create SpawnPoints attached to a new flag ?

Post by tekk »

Ya I thought about that idea already , Tie a spawn helo from each side to the flag so that which ever team has possesion of the flag has there soldier spawns. Thing would be thou the team that turns the flag would have to destroy the oppossing spawn helo in order to get their spawn helo cause if they dont then the enemy can continue to spawn on the flag. Not a very practical solution for me , but I think this is the same as adding a new objectspawn in the OS.con , cant be done SS.
Nodbrother- "getting whiped every single game by some over-active 9 year old kid with too much spare time and a reaction time that is a third of yours."
freddy
Posts: 1267
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Post by freddy »

if you can get that far im sure we can fix the resident spawn issue
tekk wrote:Thing would be thou the team that turns the flag would have to destroy the oppossing spawn helo in order to get their spawn helo cause if they dont then the enemy can continue to spawn on the flag.
User avatar
Swaffy
Posts: 1715
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Cibolo, Texas

Re: Create SpawnPoints attached to a new flag ?

Post by Swaffy »

Instead of a helo, if you're going for a soldier-only flag, you can probably just spawn a Browning M2 or some other stationary MG.
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
tekk
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:12 pm

Re: Create SpawnPoints attached to a new flag ?

Post by tekk »

Well I been thinking about this more and came up with a thought, Might not be all that pretty but should simulate a spawnpoint closely as you suggested freddy.

I attach two vehicles to that flag, one for each team and spawn them high up above flag and attach spawnpoints to those vehicles on the ground . Now the thought would be that the vehicle will spawn for the team in possesion and fall and destroy after so many seconds like around 4-5sec. Basically the spawnpoints for the flag owner will be refreshed every 4-5sec untill the flag becomes neutral at which point no vehicles will spawn for either team, once captured the new flag owners vehicle will spawn and so will their spawnpoints.

The flag spawn might dissapear for a second or two in the spawn menu but im sure by tweaking the timing on the vehicles I can keep it to a minimum.

Code: Select all

ObjectTemplate.create ObjectSpawner willyspawner
ObjectTemplate.setObjectTemplate 1 BRDM2
ObjectTemplate.setObjectTemplate 2 humvee
ObjectTemplate.MinSpawnDelay 5  <--- keep the spawns low
ObjectTemplate.MaxSpawnDelay 5
ObjectTemplate.SpawnDelayAtStart 0
ObjectTemplate.TimeToLive 5 <----keep this low
ObjectTemplate.Distance 1   <---- Keep this low so vehicle 
ObjectTemplate.DamageWhenLost 10
ObjectTemplate.maxNrOfObjectSpawned 1
That should give me about 5sec I think between new vehicle spawns refreshing, No I wont be adding a holdobject to the vehicle and would prob be best for me to add code to remove the vehicle wreckage instantly to prevent any kind of lagg.

Doing it this way would eliminate the problem of the flag owner having to manually destroy the other teams spawnpoint. I will try this out and see how it looks.
Nodbrother- "getting whiped every single game by some over-active 9 year old kid with too much spare time and a reaction time that is a third of yours."
Post Reply