Custom minimap for in game

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
Post Reply
jdc527
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 8:39 pm

Custom minimap for in game

Post by jdc527 »

Hello. Is there a way to edit the generated ingame map to remove empty borders? I'm working on a map that has some region not textured from surface map assignments however it still has this missing area present in the minimap. Having played and dug around other people's custom maps in bc42, I've noticed their minimaps do not have this problem and end promptly where the texturing ends, despite having the non textured or surface-mapped areas as well. Any advice and/or step by step is appreciated!
Diamondback
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Custom minimap for in game

Post by Diamondback »

To do this, you would have to do two things:

1) Set a restricted combat area in your map's Init.con
2) Use a photo editing program to resize your minimap accordingly

There is a thread about this on the forums, if you search for ''combat area'' in the Search box you should find it on the 2nd page of the results.

EDIT: Found it: https://www.bfmods.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... area#p9179
See my Strasbourg map project here.
jdc527
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 8:39 pm

Re: Custom minimap for in game

Post by jdc527 »

Hi, so every time I try to edit the in game map image and then repack it won't load the level in the game or the bc42 test level option. Any thoughts? Do I have to change the dds file format then change it back or am I missing another dds plugin for photoshop?
Diamondback
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Custom minimap for in game

Post by Diamondback »

Hello,

You will need a DDS plug-in to open DDS files with your favorite photo editing software.
See my Strasbourg map project here.
jdc527
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 8:39 pm

Re: Custom minimap for in game

Post by jdc527 »

Hello, yes I have a dds plugin for my photpshop application, but how is it I am supposed to edit the map in there, cropping, taking elements out? I have tried though but if I then try to return it to the map's texture folder, It either doesn't load the level or it ctd every time.
BangBangOw<CP*SF>
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:42 pm

Re: Custom minimap for in game

Post by BangBangOw<CP*SF> »

What photoshop software are you using?


There's a certain way you need to "save" it. Mipmaps and all this crap.

I use Paint.net and have made over 15 custom mini maps and what not for my custom DC maps. Same with loading screens.

BF1942 (Ver_ Tue, 19 Oct 2004 14_58_45) 4_27_2021 4_59_02 PM.png
BF1942 (Ver_ Tue, 19 Oct 2004 14_58_45) 4_27_2021 5_02_50 PM.png
BF1942 (Ver_ Tue, 19 Oct 2004 14_58_45) 4_27_2021 4_55_01 PM.png
jdc527
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 8:39 pm

Re: Custom minimap for in game

Post by jdc527 »

I'm using the most recent verison of photoshop I guess, got a couple dds plugins but those don't seem to want to work. I'll try out that paint.net one you mentioned, any dds plug I need for that to work?
duffman
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:02 am

Re: Custom minimap for in game

Post by duffman »

Save your graphics in TGA (Targa) format, use the old classic nvidia command line tool to convert the image.
I think the following arguments might do the trick:

nvdxt.exe -file ingamemap.tga -dxt1c -gamma -timestamp -nomipmap

There are links around here to find the tool if you dont have it, and some other DDS tools over at:
https://developer.nvidia.com/legacy-texture-tools
Post Reply