Adjusting the chase camera settings

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
User avatar
fo0k
Posts: 1433
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Adjusting the chase camera settings

Post by fo0k »

I remember trying to sort this a long time back and failing. This is another thing that affects us interstate mod folk with racing maps. The chase cam lags way behind on the faster vehicles. In the attached pic you can see the difference when the car is stationary and when at full speed. (its not that fast actually... maybe twice a willy top speed, if that.)

How can I retain 'some' spring in the movement of the chase cam but limit how far off it drags. Ideally I want a view similar to the stationary view at all times regardless of speed.

Image
User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings

Post by Apache Thunder »

Have you tried the "objectTemplate.outsideHudOffset" command? (it's a vector 3) I used it on my mini RC tank.

You can try replacing chase cam with this. (it works like chase in that you use C key to switch to it) Unlike chase cam distance will never change so it won't be as fluid as the normal chase cam. This will work on any vehicle and even on soldiers.

Other then that I don't see a way of changing the chase distance of the normal chase cam. :(
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
fo0k
Posts: 1433
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings

Post by fo0k »

are you talking about nose cam essentially? but placing the offset behind the car instead of on the nose?

I am familiar with setting up nosecams as they are also v useful for driving maps. when you say replace chase do you mean that or just adding nose cam..

or something else? :)
User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings

Post by Apache Thunder »

Yes essentially. The "nose cam" can be made into a chase cam of sorts by adjusting the position so it is behind instead of in front. The game considers it a second camera position so you switch to it like you would a normal one like the chase cam or fly by cam.

You could disable chase cam and replace it with the nose cam in this instance. But as I said it would not end up behaving the same as a chase cam in how the camera moves with the object.
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
fo0k
Posts: 1433
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings

Post by fo0k »

Yeah I have tried this route previously but it kinda fails. Especially when the car rocks about... You loose your feel of the whole thing :)

I noticed a 'hastarget' command but I'm guessing this is for the player.. Any idea?

I can't believe (well of course I can..) that the camera stuff is hardcoded :(

should be more control over them.
User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings

Post by Apache Thunder »

The only place that command is used on is the soldier camera. I have not played with that command yet so I don't know what it does.
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
fo0k
Posts: 1433
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings

Post by fo0k »

Hey, would this work? (Ill try it but just want to put it outr there for thoughts..)

Add templating a camera to an existing camera... like the attached pic.
I realise the cam would be in front of the car at rest... but lets not worry about that for now.. just the principle that Im thinking on... :O


For my use this is so when the camera drifts back from a car at speed.. this new cam would replace its original position giving a closer view of the vehicle even at speed.. Maybe this kind of approach could work in some way for the Heroes mod too?

edit: I think this is a little crazy actually.. but still.. I vant a solution!.. crazy thoughts usually end up with sensible ones.
Attachments
New Chase Cam
New Chase Cam
chasecam.jpg (44.22 KiB) Viewed 14332 times
User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings

Post by Apache Thunder »

I tried addtemplating more then one camera at one time. The game seems to just ignore the new camera. I don't recall which one it would use. But it will either always use the first one addtamplated or the last one. Just don't recall which.
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
freddy
Posts: 1267
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Post by freddy »

here´s a idea, i know this code works as i have used it myself (works ssm to)

Code: Select all

game.freeCameraFastSpeed 25
now i went throw and did a search on camera in all of the "bf code" i have on my computer, i just copied and pasted it all so there might be dublettes and such.

this lines i think would be in my first try to figure out what they do and if its possible to activate/change values

Code: Select all

ObjectTemplate.cameraDelayTime
ObjectTemplate.cameraDelayDistance
ObjectTemplate.useCameraOrientation
moveActiveObjectToCamera
moveCameraToActiveObject
and heres the rest

Code: Select all

setForceCameraToGround
setCameraHeight
setCameraPosition

setCameraRelativeMinRotationDeg
setCameraRelativeMaxRotationDeg

shadowsNearCamera
getRendCameraPosition
getRendCameraRotation
attachCamera
attachCameraCycle

setDebugFreeCameraEnter
setBeforeSpawnCameraPosition
setCameraBlink
serverFreeCamera
serverDeathCameraType
spawnAtCameraPosition
game.serverDeathCameraType
game.serverFreeCamera

c_PIToggleCameraMode
c_PICameraMode4
c_PICameraMode3
c_PICameraMode2
c_PICameraMode1
c_PIToggleCamera
c_PICameraY
c_PICameraX

PIToggleCamera
PIToggleCameraMode

GESetTempCamera
setPoseCameraPos
fireInCameraDof
soldierCameraPosition
setFireCameraShakeAnimationState
CameraShakeTriggers
vehicleCameraShake

cameraShakeFactor
dice.ref2.world.Networkable.FreeCamera



FreeCamera
EnableFreeCamera
freeCameraBaseSpeed
freeCameraSlowSpeed
freeCameraFastSpeed


dice.ref2.world.ObjectTemplate.FreeCamera
EnableFreeCamera
dice.ref2.world.ObjectTemplate.Camera
useCameraOrientation
ObjectTemplate.fireInCameraDof 1
ObjectTemplate.soldierCameraPosition
ObjectTemplate.vehicleCameraShake

ObjectTemplate.CameraId

setCameraShakePitch
setCameraShakeYaw
setCameraShakeRoll
setCameraShakeLeftRight
setCameraShakeUpDown
setCameraShakeInOut
setCameraShakeFadeIn
setCameraShakeFadeOut
setCameraShakeMinFactor
setCameraShakeTimeToShake
User avatar
Apache Thunder
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Adjusting the chase camera settings

Post by Apache Thunder »

The first and next 3 commands look the most promising. The ones after that are related to the Editor class and won't help much in this instance. The others seem to be related to AI and other things though I haven't looked through them all.
ImageImageImage
I have cameras in your head!
Post Reply