Battlecraft screwing up a map

If you know something thats not in here please share it

Battlecraft screwing up a map

Postby Crash42modder » Mon Feb 10, 2020 3:54 am

So, here goes. Im building a map and have made changes, saved it, made changes, saved it. The usual process over time. Anyway, Now Ive got the map to the point that, Battlecraft (2.1) screws the map up no matter what I do. I make a slight change, save it. Close Battlecraft, re open the map but Battlecraft completely changes the terrain, and lowers all static objects and vehicles to the point that you cant see them. Anyone notice that and figured out how to fix it?
Crash42modder
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 7:15 am

Re: Battlecraft screwing up a map

Postby duffman » Wed Nov 04, 2020 8:45 am

Sorry about making you wait this long for a reply... but someone else will probably have similar issue so:

If all the objects on the map drops below ground level, or is hanging in the air then you made changes to some parameters?
something like ..GeometryTemplate.yScale (see elsewhere for documentation)
It changes what ONE value in heightmap means in distance.. (1cm vs 100meters)

But its also quite likely that your operating system might not allow BF1942 write access to update the file, so you save your
changes but no error is displayed.. everything looks awesome until you restart the app and the changes are gone... because it was never saved.
(have a chat with your operating system's security officer..)

and/or this could also be the cause:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=15739
duffman
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:02 am

Re: Battlecraft screwing up a map

Postby Crash42modder » Tue Nov 24, 2020 4:48 am

No its literally battlecraft doing it. I figured out a solution:

I make changes in battlecraft to a map. Now If I save the map and close it. The next time I open the map, Battlecraft ruins the map. So the solution is, for me to go into the levels folder and copy and paste the map somewhere else BEFORE I close battlecraft.
Crash42modder
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 7:15 am

Re: Battlecraft screwing up a map

Postby Crash42modder » Tue Nov 24, 2020 4:49 am

"But its also quite likely that your operating system might not allow BF1942 write access to update the file, so you save your
changes but no error is displayed.. everything looks awesome until you restart the app and the changes are gone... because it was never saved.
(have a chat with your operating system's security officer..)"

Come to think of it, C drive always says to me that it needs my permission to do anything , move or delete.
Crash42modder
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 7:15 am


Return to Modding/Mapping Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron