Win7 Ultimate 64

For info on the site, community and 'battlefieldy' things

Win7 Ultimate 64

Postby motoko » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:32 pm

Does Win7 Ultimate 64-bit use a different method of registry? I copied my battlefield folder to a external along with the registry keys; copied back to the HD on 64 bit platform and successfully added the keys, but the language is English and it's annoying to translate it for my cousin when he constantly asks.
User avatar
motoko
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Dante's 6th Pit of Hell

Re: Win7 Ultimate 64

Postby Master Jay » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:39 pm

i run off this kind of window to :) and it dose use different registry not sure of the other one
Image
Im Watching You... When You Sleep!
Master Jay
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:28 pm

Re: Win7 Ultimate 64

Postby fo0k » Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:53 am

I would say it's better to just reinstall from disc images and then just copy over your mod folders.. Install of 42 on a 64bit machine takes me a couple of mins from mount to run :)
User avatar
fo0k
 
Posts: 1412
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Win7 Ultimate 64

Postby motoko » Fri Jun 04, 2010 1:54 am

fo0k wrote:I would say it's better to just reinstall from disc images and then just copy over your mod folders.. Install of 42 on a 64bit machine takes me a couple of mins from mount to run :)

Problem is, my back-up images are corrupt(I guess) and when I install from them, I would always get "Data Differs"; it also seems I miss placed my 5th disc, so I can't reinstall from there....
User avatar
motoko
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Dante's 6th Pit of Hell

Re: Win7 Ultimate 64

Postby Senshi » Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:38 am

Yes, registry is different. All x86 programs' registry (like BF42) is not read from HKLM\Software\ , but from HKLM\Software\Wow6432Node\

Just put your registry files there and you are good to go.
User avatar
Senshi
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Win7 Ultimate 64

Postby motoko » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:32 pm

Senshi wrote:Yes, registry is different. All x86 programs' registry (like BF42) is not read from HKLM\Software\ , but from HKLM\Software\Wow6432Node\

Just put your registry files there and you are good to go.

Ah! Thank you so much senshi.
User avatar
motoko
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Dante's 6th Pit of Hell

Re: Win7 Ultimate 64

Postby motoko » Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:18 pm

Have any of you ever encounter a problem where you start up your Battlefield, and instead of the usual menu or intro, it keeps restarting like when a map changes?
User avatar
motoko
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Dante's 6th Pit of Hell

Re: Win7 Ultimate 64

Postby Apache Thunder » Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:14 pm

Check and see if your have "Blackscreen.exe" in your game directory. The game uses that for the BF42 logo you see when you first start the game and during map change. So perhaps it is missing or corrupt.
ImageImageImage

I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
Apache Thunder
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA


Return to General discussion & notices

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron