Loadvideo

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers

Loadvideo

Postby Bonaparte » Sat May 29, 2010 6:32 pm

How to use a loadvideo instead of a loadscreen in a map?
Bonaparte
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: Loadvideo

Postby HJGF » Sat May 29, 2010 7:08 pm

is possible u need to have a .bik video i think u have to put in the "Movies " folder (biks cant be in rfa tough)

so u put these lines in the menu init.con of ur map

game.setLoadPicture ../../Mods/mod name here/Movies/video name here
Image
Image
User avatar
HJGF
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:28 pm

Re: Loadvideo

Postby Apache Thunder » Sat May 29, 2010 9:26 pm

Correct. You must path to the video to an external folder. BIKs don't work when packed into RFAs. ;)
ImageImageImage

I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
Apache Thunder
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA

Re: Loadvideo

Postby HJGF » Sat May 29, 2010 10:00 pm

wow i tough i was wrong lol
Image
Image
User avatar
HJGF
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:28 pm

Re: Loadvideo

Postby Apache Thunder » Sun May 30, 2010 5:31 pm

lol.

Here is what the setting for one of the maps in my DCU mod that has videos as loading screens:

Code: Select all
game.setLoadPicture ../../Mods/DC_UNAUTHORIZED/Movies/rah66.bik


If you use enough ../ you can even path to stuff outside the game folder. ;)

Also, you can have videos on meshes too! Just make sure they are resized to a power of 2 resolution like 512x512 or something similer or else they won't fit the uvmap of the mesh correctly. (they will still work though) I've even seen someone use videos on the terrain too.

Here is an example of how to path to a video in a RS file. DO NOT use the ../ stuff as this will cause a CTD. Plus it is not required for RS files anyway:

Code: Select all
texture "Mods/DC_UNAUTHORIZED/Movies/video_for_meshes/tvset_video2";


That is one of the videos used on my TV object in DCU.
ImageImageImage

I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
Apache Thunder
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA

Re: Loadvideo

Postby Bonaparte » Mon May 31, 2010 5:56 pm

Thanks! I'm glad that you told me that it's not working when packed as rfa, that was the problem that has been keeping me busy :D
Bonaparte
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: Loadvideo

Postby mikex222 » Mon May 31, 2010 9:38 pm

:o I Might plan on making and illusion room hehe :D

uh but how do you map the bik to the rs tho.... like in max you can map a texture to the object... but what about the video...
how would i position it to a tv.
Image
Join Me At The West
You're Welcome To Join My Town Any Time, This Is Just a Internet Game. Nothing More.
User avatar
mikex222
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:47 pm

Re: Loadvideo

Postby HJGF » Mon May 31, 2010 9:43 pm

get DCU apache made a cool tv also a laptop right?
Image
Image
User avatar
HJGF
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:28 pm

Re: Loadvideo

Postby Apache Thunder » Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:03 am

Yes the last version I released a month back added a laptop to the car bomb control table. :D
ImageImageImage

I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
Apache Thunder
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA

Re: Loadvideo

Postby Bonaparte » Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:03 am

yeah that laptop was cool :D
Bonaparte
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:49 pm

Next

Return to 1942 Modding Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests