Please help with ed42.

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
assasinseye1

Please help with ed42.

Post by assasinseye1 »

Ok im a noob at this whole mod thing for bf1942...and have had alot of ideas come to my head on maps and stuff.But the problem is that their is hardly anything i can find to help me get started...I have followed the video on how to set it up and that worked great :D ...but other then that I dont know how to use it, i have been playing around with it, and found the most obvious stuf...but can not figure out how to add bots, objects...houses,tanks,etc...flags...spawn points and all that...and most importantly setting the thing up so i can test it...????Please if someon could help or make a video on how to make a map and play it!!and help is welcome at all!!!!!!!!! :oops:
Mapper/map textureing/design....

I wash my hands of those who imagine chattering to be knowledge, silence to be ignorance, and affection to be art.
fo0k

Re: Please help with ed42.

Post by fo0k »

Hi assasin, welcome to the site.

I will get a an ed42 vid up again soon.. i started them then got busy.

when you make a new level in ed42 it does not contain any object spawns or control points.. flags, tanks etc..

you need to use winrfa and extract one of the original maps (el alamein for example) and then copy the whole 'conquest' folder from el alamein to your ed42 map folder.. now when you open the map in ed42 you will see all the control points and tanks etc on the map.. they will of course be placed in all the wrong positions but it will at least show you whats going on. then when you save the map it will overwrite the positions.. ed42 can save it all but will not make the folder for you to start with.

perhaps a better starting solution is to make a new map in battlecraft and then just save it, and extract it. that way when you copy over the folder to ed42 you will just have 2 bases and 2 soldier spawns.. so it will be nice and tidy.