[SOLVED] .wav file requirements?

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers

.wav file requirements?

Postby BotHunter » Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:04 am

What special thing do I have to do to a .wav file?? If i edit it in windows sound recorder then It wont work. but if i put in a unedited one it comes out all slow and distorted :x Whats up with it?
Last edited by BotHunter on Wed May 15, 2013 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Walk quietly and carry a sniper rifle
User avatar
BotHunter
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:22 pm

Re: .wav file requirements?

Postby Apache Thunder » Fri Apr 26, 2013 2:28 am

From my experience, BF1942 has always been real picky with the wav files. The only app I've found to work for me 100% of the time is "Xilosoft Wav Converter". I edit/create/port a wav file, then run it through that converter. It's also what I use to down sample wav files for the 22Khz and 11Khz wav folders. But don't upsample with this program. It doesn't work correctly. If you up sample a 22kHz to 44kHz, then you'll find the resulting file will play twice as fast. You can upsample with another program like the windows sound recorder app, then run it through this program without changing the frequency and the resulting file(s) will be useuable in BF1942.

I use the wave editor program that comes with the Nero suite for editing sound files. For example, the weapon fire sounds and engine file sounds from Battlefield Heroes needed to be edited to work in BF1942. And the waveditor is what I used. But even that program won't output wave files that BF42 likes. Thus I run all the wav files through that Xilosoft app, and then they work like a charm. :D
ImageImageImage

I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
Apache Thunder
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA

Re: .wav file requirements?

Postby BotHunter » Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:25 am

So it matters which folder I put it in?? I was just taking the same file and putting it in 11,22 and 44
Walk quietly and carry a sniper rifle
User avatar
BotHunter
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:22 pm

Re: .wav file requirements?

Postby Apache Thunder » Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:32 am

Well generally yes you should only put wave files sampled at 44kHz in the 44kHz folder and so on with the other ones. It might still work, but you get the best results if they are all in their correct folders.
ImageImageImage

I have cameras in your head!
User avatar
Apache Thunder
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:48 am
Location: Levelland Texas, USA

Re: .wav file requirements?

Postby fo0k » Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:27 am

every time I do custom sounds I have to go back to school to figure the damn thing out.

It feels like the kinda thing that some bright spark would have made a tool for. some free wav converter and a few batch files for 1942 to spit out the goods? :D
User avatar
fo0k
 
Posts: 1411
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: .wav file requirements?

Postby Sarge31FR » Fri Apr 26, 2013 11:03 pm

I don't know exactly what your problem is with the files, but maybe this helps:

I use "GoldWave" as sound editor, and wave files have to be saved in this format:

Wave PCM signed 16 bit, 44100Hz, stereo (or mono).

The sampling rate depends on the folder they are going in.
User avatar
Sarge31FR
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:55 pm
Location: Germany

Re: .wav file requirements?

Postby Classical Modder » Sat Apr 27, 2013 3:02 am

Apache Thunder wrote:From my experience, BF1942 has always been real picky with the wav files. The only app I've found to work for me 100% of the time is "Xilosoft Wav Converter". I edit/create/port a wav file, then run it through that converter. It's also what I use to down sample wav files for the 22Khz and 11Khz wav folders. But don't upsample with this program. It doesn't work correctly. If you up sample a 22kHz to 44kHz, then you'll find the resulting file will play twice as fast. You can upsample with another program like the windows sound recorder app, then run it through this program without changing the frequency and the resulting file(s) will be useuable in BF1942.

I use the wave editor program that comes with the Nero suite for editing sound files. For example, the weapon fire sounds and engine file sounds from Battlefield Heroes needed to be edited to work in BF1942. And the waveditor is what I used. But even that program won't output wave files that BF42 likes. Thus I run all the wav files through that Xilosoft app, and then they work like a charm. :D


I use Vegas Movie Studio and it works just fine for WAV sound file conversions.
{SoH} Clan Leader // http://sohclan.forumotion.com/
See my Strasbourg map project here.
GSC: diamondback67
Steam: diamondback67
Classical Modder
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Canada

Re: .wav file requirements?

Postby Swaffy » Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:55 am

Sarge31FR wrote:I use "GoldWave" as sound editor, and wave files have to be saved in this format:

Wave PCM signed 16 bit, 44100Hz, stereo (or mono).

Yes! Use this program! I love the heck out of it and use it for everything related to audio editing. It's awesome, and has looping playback buttons (you can even loop the audio file a number of times, such as three times, to hear how the game will play it if it gets looped). It's not really a known program, but it's very reliable and has really flexible editing features.

http://www.goldwave.com/release.php
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
Image
User avatar
Swaffy
 
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas, U.S.

Re: .wav file requirements?

Postby GoodDayToDie!! » Wed May 01, 2013 6:57 am

I use Audacity for adding complete songs(sometimes more songs like a playlist) to interstate maps. I notice the sound may speed up or slow down depending on the vehicle's speed(or if the infantry is free falling). Perhaps I should look into one of these alternatives.

Thanks!

GD
Image
GoodDayToDie!!
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Bat Country, California

Re: .wav file requirements?

Postby Swaffy » Wed May 01, 2013 7:16 am

Oh, well that's the doppler effect. Just add "dopplerOff" to the SSC file where the audio code is at.
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
Image
User avatar
Swaffy
 
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas, U.S.

Next

Return to 1942 Modding Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], MSNbot Media and 6 guests

cron