Page 2 of 2

Re: Railroad equipment and rolling stock in bf1942

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:46 pm
by Diamondback
takiwa wrote:Ok, I did 2 standalone markers, plus I have the round and oval lightboards exported by themselves so you can add them to other statics. Let me know if these are ok...

trainmarks.rar


The models look amazing, thank you for taking time to make them. Very good work. Thanks again.

Re: Railroad equipment and rolling stock in bf1942

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:32 am
by takiwa
little trick for ya...

after you generate lightmaps for these, open the .tga file up with any editor. Find the spot on the texture that corresponds with the lights (should be 10 circles). make a white circle and place on top of the dark shadow that's there.

because of the shrouds, the lights will always map dark, unfortunately. By editing the lightmap .tga, you can keep the shadow on the object, and still make the yellow lights bright, like they are on.

Re: Railroad equipment and rolling stock in bf1942

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:10 am
by Diamondback
takiwa wrote:little trick for ya...

after you generate lightmaps for these, open the .tga file up with any editor. Find the spot on the texture that corresponds with the lights (should be 10 circles). make a white circle and place on top of the dark shadow that's there.

because of the shrouds, the lights will always map dark, unfortunately. By editing the lightmap .tga, you can keep the shadow on the object, and still make the yellow lights bright, like they are on.


I'll do that, thank you so much. Will post the result on forums once I'm done the map, with the new signals.

Re: Railroad equipment and rolling stock in bf1942

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 5:51 am
by Diamondback
The single train signal model looks awesome, added it to my Strasbourg map. The object isn't lightmapped yet, like the rest of the map.

Image

Re: Railroad equipment and rolling stock in bf1942

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 5:49 pm
by takiwa
very nice!

I should've made the conduit longer to allow for you to adjust the height of the marker on the map, an oversight on my part :/