Make a miniature Map

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
Poow
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Make a miniature Map

Post by Poow »

Hey, I wonder if there is a easy way to make a miniature out of a existing Map.

My idea:

Take every Model, scale it down, rename it, add it as a custom Object to the new Map.
Even this is a pain in the a** to do it manually. Is there a better way? Maybe a kind of batch job?
Also the coordinates of each object needs to be different (You need to scale the space between every object down.)
Also the high map etc...
All in all it's to much work right?

I guess if you can create the map it's would look like crap because you need to change the lod settings (little models still have a high poly count)...

Just a thought so far.
You’re entering a world of pain!
User avatar
Senshi
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Make a miniature Map

Post by Senshi »

What do you need a miniature for??

Resizing static objects is super easy, actually. Just add GeometryTemplate.scale 1/1/1 to the Objects in the staticobjects.con, you can stretch almost every object as it pleases you.
Poow
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Make a miniature Map

Post by Poow »

Good to know!

But if you do a whole map in miniature you also have to change the lod distance right? Otherwise you will have some big lags due to the bunch of polys at one little place.

(Model size ~1 : 6)
You’re entering a world of pain!
User avatar
Senshi
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Make a miniature Map

Post by Senshi »

On halfway decent computers: No. You won't notice any big perfomance drawbacks. Simply because what counts as "Highpoly LOD01" in BF42 would nowadays be a Lowpoly-LOD03...;)

Battlegroup is currently working on replacing the poor (and often wrong) DICE models with high poly models of their modders...simply because it doesn't cause much of a perfomance drop.

Of course, if you have hundreds of such objects huddled together on a map, you might get problems. But the number of objects on any DICE map should never pose a problem, even if "concentrated" (just compare a mod map from FH or BG with a DICE one...DICE Kharkov 942 objects (because of all the trees, which actually don't hurt perfomance at all cause they are basic treemeshes ;), while almost every BG map features 2-5 times that amount of objects...and that's high poly most of the time ;) .
Poow
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Make a miniature Map

Post by Poow »

Yea, that's true!
Senshi wrote:What do you need a miniature for??

Just add GeometryTemplate.scale 1/1/1 to the Objects in the staticobjects.con
How do I use the "GeometryTemplate.scale" ?

Code: Select all

Object.create dc_khafji-crane2_m1
GeometryTemplate.scale 0.5/0.5/0.5
Object.absolutePosition 912.63/89.97/1234.34
Object.rotation 0.00/0.00/0.00

Code: Select all

Object.create dc_khafji-crane2_m1
Object.absolutePosition 912.63/89.97/1234.34
Object.rotation 0.00/0.00/0.00
GeometryTemplate.scale 0.5/0.5/0.5
Both isn't working :|
€:

Object.Geometry.scale 0.5/0.5/0.5 works :)
Or is this not such a good idea?
You’re entering a world of pain!
freddy
Posts: 1267
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Re: Make a miniature Map

Post by freddy »

its easy to change the size of a map with the same trick, in Terrain.con you can play with the "GeometryTemplate.worldSize 2048" but it only works with a divider of 2
User avatar
Iced Earth
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Make a miniature Map

Post by Iced Earth »

Poow wrote:Yea, that's true!
Senshi wrote:What do you need a miniature for??

Just add GeometryTemplate.scale 1/1/1 to the Objects in the staticobjects.con
How do I use the "GeometryTemplate.scale" ?

Code: Select all

Object.create dc_khafji-crane2_m1
GeometryTemplate.scale 0.5/0.5/0.5
Object.absolutePosition 912.63/89.97/1234.34
Object.rotation 0.00/0.00/0.00

Code: Select all

Object.create dc_khafji-crane2_m1
Object.absolutePosition 912.63/89.97/1234.34
Object.rotation 0.00/0.00/0.00
GeometryTemplate.scale 0.5/0.5/0.5
Both isn't working :|
€:

Object.Geometry.scale 0.5/0.5/0.5 works :)
Or is this not such a good idea?
I think you have to .active it...like...:

Code: Select all

GeometryTemplate.active dc_khafji-crane2_m1
GeometryTemplate.scale 0.5/0.5/0.5
i think i think!
Image
Poow
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Make a miniature Map

Post by Poow »

freddy wrote:its easy to change the size of a map with the same trick, in Terrain.con you can play with the "GeometryTemplate.worldSize 2048" but it only works with a divider of 2
Thanks, that's interesting!

@ Iced

Code: Select all

Object.Geometry.scale 0.5/0.5/0.5 
Works fine! The question is if this code is okay or maybe not the best solution..
You’re entering a world of pain!
User avatar
Iced Earth
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Make a miniature Map

Post by Iced Earth »

ahhh thats right. Yeah that shouldn't be a problem at all. :P
Image
Post Reply