player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Ask questions, discuss ideas, get answers
Skull Kid
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Sweden

player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by Skull Kid »

This was kind of a handy command. It changes the current hitpoints of the player, but it only seems to work in multiplayer. When I try it in single player, even by using the player.active command, followed by my player id, it doesn't work at all in single player.
Regards,

Skull Kid
User avatar
Swaffy
Posts: 1715
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Cibolo, Texas

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by Swaffy »

My guess is that certain commands are server based and not client. Local server counting as that.
(Forum Thread|Download) Swaffy'sMod v0.34 | Download link to come Soon™
Skull Kid
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by Skull Kid »

I see. Well, not much I can do about it then.
Regards,

Skull Kid
Skull Kid
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by Skull Kid »

I'm also right now trying to make the console show my vehicle ID, without typing "object.listobjectsoftemplate" and then the objects name.

Anyone who can come up with a solution for this, I'd be extremely grateful!

NOTE: This is for Single Player.
Regards,

Skull Kid
Skull Kid
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by Skull Kid »

I finally got the player.vehicleHp to work! The player.active command only "seem" to work with one argument, in other words, a name without any spaces. Not even quotation marks seems to help… strange.

EDIT: It can be partly fixed when naming yourself with the alias name "yourname", then re-naming yourself to whatever, and you are still the selected player. But for bots, I have no clue on how to select them.
Regards,

Skull Kid
russ
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:12 am

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by russ »

Super stubborn

var v_name = "Z Fighter"
player.active v_name

Doesn't even work.
Skull Kid
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by Skull Kid »

Hmm... need to do further troubleshooting with this...
Regards,

Skull Kid
Diamondback
Posts: 589
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by Diamondback »

Var v_ID = 10
Player.active v_ID ?
See my Strasbourg map project here.
russ
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:12 am

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by russ »

Classical Modder wrote:Var v_ID = 10
Player.active v_ID ?
The console object for this one uses a ostream/istream class for parsing to/from an IPlayer* and an std::string. If overloads operator>> and operator<< to then do the actual lookups. Unfortunately istream tokenizes input. There's no way for a space to get past it without modifying the code.
Diamondback
Posts: 589
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: player.vehicleHp only works in multiplayer?

Post by Diamondback »

This is still a great discovery. Well done SkullKid! player.active can be used for many different applications. Time to try out the code.

If you want to make it work for bots then rename the bots name in the Skirmish.con file so that they do not have a second name. That would eliminate the problem with the player.active command.
See my Strasbourg map project here.
Post Reply