Getting Started: Using WinRFA to make patch files

Lots of cool and useful tips to mod either serverside or clientside

Re: Getting Started: Using WinRFA to make patch files

Postby fo0k » Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:26 pm

Have always been more client side here.

So a map with a collection of modular rooms, tunnels etc (as spawners) could be made and then completely changed by the server admin...
Surprised this is is not common (?) knowledge.
User avatar
fo0k
 
Posts: 1423
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Getting Started: Using WinRFA to make patch files

Postby MegaloDon » Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:41 pm

fo0k wrote:Have always been more client side here.

So a map with a collection of modular rooms, tunnels etc (as spawners) could be made and then completely changed by the server admin...
Surprised this is is not common (?) knowledge.


I don't think it will work with static objects. I just know that it works with vehicles (PCO's). It should be common knowledge but when I posted it years ago I was criticized and flamed for suggesting it, even though I proved that it worked.
Last edited by MegaloDon on Sun Sep 09, 2012 2:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MegaloDon
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:52 am

Re: Getting Started: Using WinRFA to make patch files

Postby fo0k » Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:23 am

Well I mean statics setup as spawners. Simple spawners objects without any physics.

Why would this be easy on one map and harder on another freddy?
User avatar
fo0k
 
Posts: 1423
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Getting Started: Using WinRFA to make patch files

Postby freddy » Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:10 am

Thats a good question, we have been running Coral Sea 24/7 for years in our server, so the most if not all modding iwe done is for that map, but when i put some of the code in for example Market Garden it crash and burn.

In Coral i can make the soldiers jump higher, make own engines (no network code ofcoarse) and it works flawless (own engines works in Iwo Jima to), but the same code in Market Gardet or Midway crash when join, And some other codes just acts differently.

The Coral map was a fan made map i think, i dont know if that can make the difference. Perhaps it work better if i move it from where it runs, gotta make a try.
User avatar
freddy
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Previous

Return to General Modding Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron